Building Paris

Rome Wasn’t Built in a Day…Neither Was Paris!

Tweaking P90X to suit your needs

Posted by Jeremy Paris on February 28, 2009

Run for Fun

Run for Fun

In my previous fitness post I mentioned that I made some minor adjustments to my P90X workout.  What I noticed was that 3 days out of the week I was scheduled to do some kind of non-muscle-building workout.  Plyometrics, Yoga, etc.  I decided to replace these days with “Run Days” instead.  I would like to be able to run a 1/2 marathon, and then a full marathon…and maybe even beyond.  Although Yoga and Plyometrics, and Kenpo will ultimately help my running, in my opinion it won’t help as much as running will. 

My plan is to switch up the Run Days so that I’m doing wind-sprints on some days and long distances on other days.  I am not going to restrain myself by deciding that in advance because some days will be stressful for me and I will benefit from a nice long run (my equivelant to meditating). 

If you stick exactly to the P90X plan, I’m sure you will experience the repeatable results, but if you aren’t happy doing it then it will become a chore instead of fun.  And once that happens we all know that any opportunity for you to miss a day…you will.  If you enjoy your workout, you will do it because you want to not because you have to. 

Aside from incorporating running what other ways could you tweak your P90X routine?  Hit up the comments section and let me know.

Leave a Reply

 
