Building Paris

Rome Wasn’t Built in a Day…Neither Was Paris!

Running as Meditation

Posted by Jeremy Paris on February 28, 2009

Use what works for you.
Use what works for you.

I developed a love for running towards the end of high school, and did plenty of it during my 10 years in the Army.  I especially liked the long steady runs because I would often “drift off” during the run.  No matter what was going on in my life at that time I would always feel happier after my run. 

It wasn’t until after I was out of the Army that I discovered the reason running made me feel good.  It was my meditation.  My mind goes a million miles a minute from the time that I wake up until the time I go to sleep.  But during a long run my mind would shut off.  I don’t mean day-dreaming.  I was aware of everything going on around me.  In fact, I was more aware of everything around me.  I could hear my breath, the birds chirping and the children in the park giggling at the same time.  I would be taking in the beauty of the vegetation, and have an overwhelming sense of calm. 
About a year ago, someone was teaching me to meditate and explained exactly what I just explained above.  They said that the reason for it is that we have “self-talk” constantly which tends to block our senses.  But when we meditate (or when I run), that self-talk stops giving you an inner-peace. 
I read about this again in “The Power of Now” by Eckhart Tolle.  Interestingly enough, I don’t experience it as often when I actually try to meditate.  But give me a nice long run on a hot sunny day.  Mmmmmm. 
One Response to “Running as Meditation”

  1. Stubborn said

    Sounds like me when I take the horses out on the trail. I think thats my meditation. WOW… I can actually meditate…lol.

Leave a Reply

 
